Discernment and Inner Knowing

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Discernment and Inner Knowing: Making Decisions for the Best by Joycelin Dawes This ground-breaking study of spiritual and secular discernment explores Quaker discernment – individual and decision-making in a group – through the eyes of Theory U, a secular framework for change. The book explains and applies the methods and visual map of ‘Theory U’ to shed light on Quaker practice. This form of ‘mutual irradiation’ between Quaker discernment and Theory U brings greater clarity and strength to Quaker discernment … Read More

Face to Face

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Face to Face: Early Quaker Encounters with the Bible by T. Vail Palmer, Jr. 6 X 9 inch, 288 p. paperback ISBN: 978159490374 Cost: $20.00 Through most of our history Friends have taken the Bible seriously and have looked to it for guidance. Friends have been leaders in testifying against war and working for peace, in recognizing the equality of women and men in Christian ministry, in working against slavery and advocating for social justice. Yet we find in the … Read More

Come Away and Pray

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Come Away and Pray: God is Light by Judy Brutz Come Away and Pray, God is Light invites quiet moments of contemplation. Ponder statements of Quaker thought as well as scriptural verses. “I saw also that there was an ocean of darkness and death, but an infinite ocean of light and love, which flowed over the ocean of darkness: and in that I saw an infinite love of God…” George Fox, 1624 – 1691 “Let women then go on – … Read More

Holy Silence

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Holy Silence: The Gift of Quaker Spirituality by J Brent Bill J. Brent Bill’s Holy Silence is a contemporary classic on sacred silence. With warmth, wisdom, and gentle humor, Bill presents the Quaker practice of silence and expectant listening to a wider Christian audience. This revised and expanded edition includes new spiritual silence practices and a new section on incorporating holy silence into worship. Written by one of the most respected interpreters of the Quaker tradition, Holy Silence opens up … Read More

Life Lessons from a Bad Quaker

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Life Lessons from a Bad Quaker: A Humble Stumble Toward Simplicity and Grace by J Brent Bill On quick observation, the Quaker lifestyle boasts peace, solitude, and simplicity—qualities that are attractive to any believer of any denomination or religion. Yet living a life of faith is not as simple as it may look. In fact, it’s often characterized more by the stumbles than the grace. “When someone asks me what kind of Christian I am,” says Quaker author J. Brent … Read More

Finding God in the Verbs

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Finding God in the Verbs: Crafting a Fresh Language of Prayer by Jennie Isbell and J. Brent Bill Do you long for deeper communion with God? Spiritual director Jennie Isbell and Quaker minister Brent Bill know how easy it is to lapse into repetitious refrains of prayer: “Our hearts told us that we had lapsed into easy God speak. We weren’t reaching deep into our spirits and drawing out living words of praise, confession, concern, intercession and longing. We were … Read More

Eastern Light

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Eastern Light: Awakening to Presence in Zen, Quakerism, and Christianity by Steve Smith This spiritual autobiography integrates perspectives of early Quakers, Zen Buddhists, and contemporary Christian thinkers. Smith draws from these sources as he tells a personal tale of his Quaker childhood, his years of spiritual crisis, and his ultimate return to Quakerism by way of Zen Buddhism. Along the way, Smith explores and explains the Quaker peace testimony and liberal Quaker views of gender, power, education, and care for … Read More

Giving Up Something Good for Something Better

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Giving Up Something Good for Something Better by Sister Alegria del Senor In this chronicle of the development of Amigas del Señor Monastery in rural Honduras, Sisters Alegría and Confianza tell of the joys, struggles, and adventures they encounter in a country beleaguered by poverty and violence. Sharing in a Covenant of Caring with Multnomah Monthly Meeting, the two women are perpetually professed Methodist Sisters, working to improve healthcare at a local clinic, while walking a path of spiritual insights. … Read More

Soldier Girls

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War by Helen Thorpe “A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship” (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal lives and families—named a best book of the year by Publishers Weekly. “In the tradition of Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Richard Rhodes, and other masters of literary journalism, Soldier Girls … Read More

Just Like Us

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Just Like Us: The True Story of Four Mexican Girls Coming of Age in America by Helen Thorpe Now updated, the powerful account of four young Mexican women coming of age in Denver, two who have legal documentation, two who don’t, and what happens to them as a result. Just Like Us tells the story of four high school students whose parents entered this country illegally from Mexico. We meet the girls on the eve of their senior prom in Denver, … Read More

1 2