Soldier Girls

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War by Helen Thorpe “A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship” (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal lives and families—named a best book of the year by Publishers Weekly. “In the tradition of Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Richard Rhodes, and other masters of literary journalism, Soldier Girls … Read More

Just Like Us

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Just Like Us: The True Story of Four Mexican Girls Coming of Age in America by Helen Thorpe Now updated, the powerful account of four young Mexican women coming of age in Denver, two who have legal documentation, two who don’t, and what happens to them as a result. Just Like Us tells the story of four high school students whose parents entered this country illegally from Mexico. We meet the girls on the eve of their senior prom in Denver, … Read More

A Language for the Inward Landscape

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

A Language for the Inward Landscape: Wisdom from the Quaker Tradition by Brian Drayton and William P. Taber, Jr. As Quakers expressed and reflected upon their experience of life under the guidance of the spirit of Christ, they developed a rich vocabulary to describe those experiences. This vocabulary played an important role in Quaker spiritual formation and community life from the beginning of the movement in 1650, and continues today as modern seekers wrestle with describing their experiences. When Bill … Read More

Approved!

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

By Nancy L. Haines Illustrated by Anne E. G. Nydam How can children work cooperatively to make decisions? Approved! A Story About Quaker Meeting for Business tells of a group of children who want to donate the money they earned selling hot dogs at their Quaker meeting. The story uses simple, clear language and charming artwork to introduce Quaker process, highlighting •The role of the clerk and recording clerk •Reporting to meeting for business •Participating in spiritual discernment •Identifying the … Read More

Our Life is Love: The Quaker Spiritual Journey

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

by Marcelle Martin Our Life is Love describes the transformational spiritual journey of the first Quakers, who turned to the Light of Christ within and allowed it to be their guide. Many Friends today use different language, but are still called to make the same journey. In our time people seeking deeper access to the profound teachings of Christianity want more than just beliefs, they want direct experience. Focusing on ten elements of the spiritual journey, this book is a … Read More

El Espiritu Se Levanta: Voces Jovenes Cuaqueras

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

translated by Emma Condori Mamani edited by: Angelina Conti, Cara Curtis, C. Wed Daniels, Harriet Hart, Sarah Katreen Hoggatt, Evelyn Jadin, John Epur Lomuria, Emma Condori Mamani, Katrina MQuail, and Rachel Ann Miller Este libro celebra, critica, cuestiona, y refleja sobre la experiencia de la fe cuaquera. Esta coleccion de escritura y arte grafico fue creada por adolescentes y jovenes adultos cuaqueros de todo el mundo y de toda la amplia gama teologica y cultural de la Sociedad Religiosa de … Read More

Bayard Rustin: The Invisible Activist

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

by Jacqueline Houtman, Walter Naegle, Michael Long A new biography for middle school ages and up… “We need, in every community, a group of angelic troublemakers” — Bayard Rustin To many, the civil rights movement brings to mind protests, marches, boycotts, and freedom rides. They often think of people like Martin Luther King, Jr. or Rosa Parks. They seldom think of Bayard Rustin. Raised by his Quaker grandmother to believe in the value of every human being, Bayard made trouble wherever … Read More

A Little Book of Unknowing

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

by Jennifer Kavanagh What if the facts on which we base our lives are shown to be unreliable? What if our expectations are confounded? What if we let go of those assumptions and expectations? What if we let go of our familiar, habitual ways of thinking? What if we let go of the very need to know? Unknowing is at the centre of spiritual life. It is only by creating a space in which anything can happen that we allow … Read More

The Emancipation of B

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

by Jennifer Kavanagh This is Quaker Jennifer Kavanagh’s first novel. B is not a child of his time. As an outsider, he hides his secrets well. Freedom is all he dreams of. But when it comes at last, it is in the most unexpected way – and at a considerable cost. Roundfire Books, an imprint of John Hunt Publishing 2015 149 pp. ISBN: 978-1782798842 Endorsements “I think the book is wonderful. Vivid and absorbing and thought-provoking. Nor did I find … Read More

Renewable

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

by Eileen Flanagan At age forty-nine, Eileen Flanagan had an aching feeling that she wasn’t living up to her potential—or her youthful ideals. A former Peace Corps volunteer who’d once loved the simplicity of living in a mud hut in Botswana, she now had too many e-mails in her inbox and a basement full of stuff she didn’t need. Increasingly worried about her children’s future on a warming planet, she felt unable to make a difference—until she joined a band … Read More

1 2 3 4